Fractions Made Fun

I posted about how I turned a cute Halloween decoration into a fun fraction lesson.  Well, the fractions continued.

My good friend shared on facebook how her son made pancakes for everyone as a school assignment.  The measuring, math, and following directions make the funnest tastiest lesson out there!  So, I decided to copy that good idea and have my girls make breakfast…fractions included.  Did they even know they did school?  Most likely not. Ha!

Bunny made the pancake batter.  She did a pretty good job.  The trick here is that just making the recipe one time is not enough pancakes for the whole family.  We usually triple the recipe so we have left overs.  The assignment was for her to figure out how to triple the recipe.  She did pretty good for her first time going solo!  I had to remind her about a few ingredients where she forgot to triple those.  The lesson included figuring a quicker way to measure 9/4 of a cup of milk.  I showed her how to convert the fraction into a whole number, to which she saw… ah, 9/4 = 2 1/2.

Bunny nearly done with the batter.

Bunny nearly done with the batter.

Bug is on a lower level, so I started her simple.  She made syrup.  Its an easy 4 ingredient recipe.  Its one that I don’t have written down, so I had to tell her the recipe verbally, which I think really worked well for her.  She measured it all out perfectly, and our syrup tasted just right!  I have plans for her though.  I have plans to have her bake a cake all on her own…without my assistance, unless she asks for it!

Bug and Bunny working side by side.

Bug and Bunny working side by side.

Grading her math test.

Bunny grading her math test.

Bug trying out her syrup making abilities.

Bug trying out her syrup making abilities.

Little Cowboy watched as I spooned the pancake batter onto the waffle iron (I decided to make waffles instead of pancakes for Halloween).  He learned that he can be around hot things without being in danger.  Before he stood on a chair to watch, he started to reach up toward the hot waffle iron, which scared me and I called out, “No!  Hot!”  He looked shocked, because he hadn’t seen the waffle iron before (I haven’t used it in over a year).  So once he got up on the chair, he looked at it and pointed at it, and I reminded him that it will hurt him and let him decide whether to touch it or not.  One thing about LC is that he really seems to consider my counsel.  I can see his wheels working as I wait for him to respond.  If I do not physically intervene, he will take my counsel to not get hurt.  No worries, if he is in real danger, I definitely intervene.I sure do love natural math lessons!

Little Cowboy watched as I spooned the pancake batter onto the waffle iron (I decided to change things up for Halloween).  He learned that he can be around hot things without being in danger.  He nearly touched the hot waffle iron, but I reminded him that it will hurt him and let him decide whether to touch it or not.  One thing about LC is that he really seems to consider my counsel.  I can see his wheels working as I wait for him to respond.  If I do not physically intervene, he will take my counsel to not get hurt.  No worries, if he is in real danger, I definitely intervene

Little Cowboy tried out the yummy white “chocolate” ghost suckers that I made while the girls prepared breakfast (he had already eaten his breakfast–he usually eats with daddy before he goes off to work).  This was an activity we did last night.  This morning, after breakfast the kids took some of these cute suckers over to their neighbor friends that homeschool too!  We are slowly becoming friends with them.  I’m hoping their mom will join me for walks sometime in the future.  But as it stands, she is content to just chat every now and again while the kids play.

Little Cowboy giving his ghost the eye...

Little Cowboy giving his ghost the eye…

Then he takes a bite.  That boy loves sweets. :/

..then he takes a bite. This boy loves sweets. :/

Cute little ghost suckers made of vanilla almond bark.

Cute little ghost suckers made of vanilla almond bark.

Overall, it was a great lesson.  Later today, we will carve our pumpkins and get dressed up to do a little trick-or-treating.  I am very much looking forward to this holiday being OVER!  I’m not a huge fan of it…except to get pumpkins that I can cook puree and freeze for different recipes throughout the year!  Yum!

Evelyn

Leave a Reply

