Dreams

I have a history of having vivid dreams. I dream in color, and most of the time they are random strangeness and mean nothing. But sometimes. Just sometimes, they teach me a lesson, give me a good idea, or inspire me.

Last night was no exception. Towards morning time, my incoherent dream shifted to me being on the TV show, The Biggest Loser.  The filming was just starting, so no one knew each other yet. Now to preface, I don’t really watch this show, other than maybe an episode once in a while. So I don’t know where this dream came from.

There was a lot of anticipation and excitement. A ton of emotion was coursing through my body. It’s funny, because I feel emotion in my dreams. When I do, it feels so real that often times when I awake, it takes me a moment to realize that it was a dream. There were some contestants who were motivated and others who were scared out of their minds. The feelings I felt were butterflies in my tummy, like I was anticipating a competitive volleyball or basketball game to begin. I had my duffel bag slung over my shoulder as the group of contestants marched in slow motion through a warehouse, and down a hallway (many of my dreams happen in slow motion). While we walked down this hallway toward the gym, some of the contestants began talking in loud whispers amongst themselves. To no one in particular and with a solemn tone, one person said, “We are all going to die.”

Jillian one of the personal trainers said; “No…” She glanced back at me, then proceeded to say, “She won’t.”

The contestant who spoke looked at me with surprise as we walked through the double doors.  As the light from the gym grew brighter, I seemingly grew a foot in height, and it dawned on me that I have compete power over my situation. I am going to win.

Then I woke up. Minutes before my alarm was to go off at 6 am.

I was then wide awake.  It took me a few minutes to come back down to reality. It was just a dream, and during that dream, it felt like I had scared all of the fat away.

The great thing is, that the motivation, confidence, and determination was still coursing through my veins in the form of adrenaline. So I laid there for about five minutes while I decided whether or not to try to go back to sleep, which I couldn’t.

Then I got up, got dressed, and headed out into the frigid 31 degree weather to walk and jog.

Sunrise an my walking path.

Sunrise an my walking path.

One thought on “Dreams

Leave a Reply

