A Glasses Kind of Day

A Glasses Kind of Day… What is that you ask?  Well, I’ll tell you.  It starts with a headache early in the morning.  Those are the days I know I’ll be wearing my glasses.  Today.  I woke up with the intention of jotting down our home school lesson plans then getting started.  But as the sharp pains in my head pounded as I sat up in bed, I knew that wasn’t happening.  I decided we would see where the day took us.

Needless to say, I didn’t give any of the kids any formal instruction.  They just picked up their tasks for the day on their own.  Someone who uses A Thomas Jefferson Education philosophy of homeschool will understand that this is a big moment.  They are taking it upon themselves to do something creative and educational.

Bunny continued with the project that she had started last night.  She is making a doll house out of a cardboard box.  Her little house include chairs with pillows for cushions, a bed, pictures and a door.  She is having a great time.  She took it upon herself to cut two squares of fabric and sew them together, stuff them, and then sew them up.  The only thing that I had to do was show her how to tie a knot at the end of the string, and then finish off her hand-sewing with a knot.  They really are pretty cute!  She is wanting to sell her creation.  So let me know if you are interested. 🙂

Bunny sewing her little pillows.

Bunny sewing her little pillows.

A few of the pillows for the bed.

A few of the pillows for the bed.

Bunny looking through the door to her little doll house.

Bunny looking through the door to her little doll house.

Bug decided to make a fort in the front room.  She spent so much time trying to get it to stay up, but her little brother just kept coming in a knocking it down.  I had to intervene and help her secure the ends of the blanket in a way that it wouldn’t cave in at the slightest touch.  Not to mention all of the books that were holding down the blankets.  Those kept falling on her.  In the end, she got to read and play with her dolls in the fort.  She wasn’t pleased when she wanted to move on to something else, because she had to clean it up.  Our house just isn’t big enough to allow it to stay up.

The outside of Bug's fort.

The outside of Bug’s fort.

Bug singing primary songs in her fort.

Bug singing primary songs in her fort.

Little Cowboy just ran around, tried to knock Bug’s fort down as many times as possible, and wanted to play with his little action figures in Bunny’s house.  He is a handful and keeps me moving.  Today, he helped me make some delicious rice pudding.  Okay, well he just played with cups, bowls and measuring cups at the counter while I prepared the pudding.  He seems to be going through a phase…and that phase is none-stop get into everything, hide so no one will notice that I am not with them-doing something I shouldn’t kind of phase.

This little stinker!

This little stinker!

After a nice walk and piano practice, I wrote today off as a success…even after starting the day with a horrible headache.

Tomorrow you ask?  Well, I think we will do a little Spanish lesson, and maybe a culture lesson on the Dominican Republic.  Hey, why not?  We will be having Dominican style rice and beans for dinner!

One thought on “A Glasses Kind of Day

Leave a Reply

