Thanksgiving and Service

I decided to import some posts from my old blog.  It has now been about 1 year since I was asked to be the activity day leader, and it has been a fun filled calling!

*********  ****************  ********

November 9, 2012

I walked into my calling with the rest of the year mostly planned out, which is nice.  It gives me an idea for what the girls have done, and what they like.  For yesterday’s activity, the plan was for the girls to make Thanksgiving cards to give to the families who will be receiving food baskets from the youth.  Great idea!  Right?  No need to change it in my opinion!

Why not add to it though?  A sister from the ward asked me if the activity day girls could make birthday cards for an older widow who does not have anymore family alive.  She is in a nursing home, and I guess, that is one of the things she really misses…cards, letters… you know, receiving something…anything in the mail.  I can feel for her.  I always walk to the mailbox with a hopeful feeling that just maybe I’ll have a card or a letter instead of bills.  Alas, it is usually bills.  Sometimes I day dream that there is a check in the mail for a cagillion dollars…. (Inserted 11-11-2013, Okay, every time I go to the mailbox, I imagine finding a check.  haha, a girl can dream, right?).

But I digress.

I have a firm belief that these kids need to grow up learning how to help other people.  They need to learn how to set aside time to think of other people.

My goal is to have an underlying point to everything we do.  The girls are working to earn their Faith in God awards…so, these activities are mainly to help them get there.

After our opening exercises, I explained what we were doing.  They were all very excited to be doing something crafty.  They got right to work.  But it wasn’t just about making cards with no thought… so I began to explain to them about this older woman who was all alone, and missing on the sweet little things in life.

I asked, “Why do you think it is service…making these birthday cards for this woman?”

They all answered so wonderfully.  One thing that I am not surprised by.  This upcoming generation is very intuitive, not to mention all of these girls have been well taught by their parents.  They understood that this woman needs to feel loved, and to look at those fun little cards that used to come in the mail from family.  It is an opportunity to bring a smile to her face, and help her feel loved.
The same with the Thanksgiving cards.  Each family will not only get an outpouring of blessings, in the form of food, but they will get a card that shows that someone was thinking of them!


Happiness is in the little things…and if I can help my kids, and any other kids I am fortunate to mentor, I hope they learn that too.  I am sure thankful for this calling!  It is so much fun, and I can feel it preparing me for other adventures!

Happy Thanksgiving… a little early!

Leave a Reply

