New Year: New Goals

I haven’t pinned down any concrete New Year Resolutions yet until now.

Set goals to accomplish your dream.

Set goals to accomplish your dream.

Last Sunday during Sacrament Meeting, a family spoke about setting good and uplifting goals.  Their son mentioned that after this life, when we review our mortal one, we might regret not having pushed ourselves more.  We can do that by setting achievable goals.  He also mentioned that “goals reflect the desires of our heart” (Quote from Preach My Gospel).

His sister spoke of patriarchal blessings, and how they can help us set personal spiritually uplifting goals to help us become a better person, and learn more about what our life mission is.

I have many goals that I have been considering making official, and I suppose it isn’t official unless I write them down.  I have so many desires that I want to accomplish, but I only have so much time.  Without further ado:

My overall very necessary goal is the following:
-To use my time wisely, and to better organize where I spend my precious time.  This is a really hard thing for me.  It is easy to get distracted with so many things.  But the things that usually get missed, or pushed to the side are the things that matter the most to my person.  I find that I am not as fulfilled if I am not doing everything that I need to be healthy, happy, educated, and filled with the Spirit.

Physically Active Goals:
I have started what is called the “Lazy Man Iron Man.”  Over the duration of a month, I will complete 26.2 miles running/walking, 110 miles cycling, and 2.4 miles swimming.
To help hold me to that, I decided to sign up for a 5k race.  This is something that I have always wanted to do after “I lost the weight.”  But, the time just keeps slipping past.  I guess there is no time like the present.  One lady told me, that I’d “be surprised at how doable a race at any level is.  It just takes determination and desire.”
-So, my desire is to be ready to run a 5k by April 19!

Spiritually:
I have had tons of thoughts on this front.  But what I have settled on are the following.
-I want to have read the lesson readings before church each week.
-I want to start preparing my Gospel Doctrine lesson for the full 2 weeks that I have in between each lesson.
-I want to study the scriptures and my upcoming lesson every day.
-Have family prayer every night and evening, even if Hoss is working, or had to leave before we all were up.
-Have family scripture study every evening, even if Hoss is not home yet.

Writing Goals:
This one has been nagging at me for a very long time.  I started writing my novel about 6 years ago (I am hanging my head in shame).  I have only a handful of chapters left to write.  I’m talking between 2-5 at the most, but I have been putting off finishing it for a few reasons.  Not all of them I am willing to admit, because they are personal, but let’s just say, I’m a bit afraid of success.  There.  I said it.  Every time I pray for the Lord to help us find a way out of debt, I get the distinct impression that I need to finish my novel in order to “help” that out.  So, I’m working on getting past my fear…
-I have set a goal to have it finished and edited by myself and ready for others to read and edit by the end of April.
-I want it ready to submit before or by The end of July.

Homeschool Goals:
I want to keep setting little goals.  Monthly goals, quarterly goals, and weekly…and even daily goals.  We need more goals in this household.  We are off to a great start, as I have set some academic goals for myself–reading as many books as I can.  Ideally, I’d like to read a book a week.  But with everything I am needing to do, I think one book every 2 weeks is great!  I have mentoring goals set for the Bunny, Bug and Little Cowboy.  We haven’t really set any goals with our homeschooling before.  I wish I would have sooner.  I already feel like we have a direct purpose, and now we are not stopping!

I am very confident that this is going to be a very rewarding year!  What do you think?  Will yours be rewarding too?

Leave a Reply

