Trying Something New

Ever since I found out I was pregnant, I have really struggled, like any pregnant woman, with having enough energy to keep up with every day life.  It would feel like, once I start feeling good and getting energy, I would get sick, or something would happen to prevent me from maximizing on this.  I have been very baffled about it.

Over the Christmas and New Year holiday, my household fell ill with the horrible flu that has been circulating and some crazy virus of a cold.  That cold would not let up.  The sore throat on its own felt like strep throat.  It was exhausting.  So exhausting that for about a week, I hardly got out of bed.  The kids didn’t either.  It was rough.  Well, we are finally all feeling better.  I think the virus has made its run, and we are hopefully done with sickness for a while…but my energy levels have not recovered yet.  We have so much to do to prepare for the baby, get organized for our upcoming move, AND chores to get caught up on from the month of being down.  So, without returning energy, I would find myself practically falling asleep only hours after waking up.  Little Cowboy was suffering with the same thing as well, so I’m thinking it was still a part of the virus holding on.  Day after day, my to do list got a little bit more dusty.

So what do you do when things aren’t going like you would prefer?  Well, I don’t know what you do, but I pray about it.  I’ve been praying about my energy levels returning for some time now, and I feel like maybe I got my answer this morning.

The baby has been waking up consistently around 5:30 am, just before Hoss’s alarm goes off for him to get up and get ready for work.  She was hiccupping this morning, so the rolling and turning in my belly started.  Usually, I have no problem going back to sleep, even with all of the movement, but this morning, I just couldn’t fall back to sleep.  Hoss even asked me if everything was alright.  Lol… that is how awake I was.

So he got up and was out eating breakfast.  I checked my email on my phone, and the thought came to me, “Maybe if I get up now, instead of staying in bed this morning, and eat breakfast early on, you will have more energy to get more done today.”  Huh!  Novel idea!  So, I got up.  Hoss and I had some time to ourselves before he left, and so far… I feel pretty decent.

We’ll see how the rest of the day goes.  Maybe shaking up the schedule will be the trick to me feeling more energetic and productive throughout the day.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

